Poland Spring Resort

poland spring resort maine staff

Find Us

maine golf resorts


We are 30 minutes north of Portland, and 2 1/4 hours north of Boston.


From the south, take Maine Turnpike Exit #63, (Read More)


GPS Directions

Contact Us

Poland Spring Resort is open year round! The resort information and reservation office is open from 8 am to 10pm.

Poland Spring Resort Charity

Poland Spring Resort receives numerous request for support from many worthwhile causes and unfortunately we are unable to help everyone.










We are delighted to support many programs such as:


The Gems of 26 Support Maine Military Program









Current Maine military personnel and veterans of the Middle East conflicts, along with their families, may contact the Military Family Assistance Center to demonstrate eligibility for this fantastic offer. Once deemed eligible by MFAC, the families can stay for 2 to 7 days at the tranquil and scenic Poland Spring Resort at no expense. Not only are daily breakfasts and dinners for the whole family included in this offer, so is use of all facilities on the grounds, including boat rentals for enjoying Range Pond in Poland.


While staying at the Inn, the families are also provided:


  • Free admission to the beautiful and historic McLaughlin Garden in South Paris
  • Free admission for the military member and a discount for their family to see bears, eagles, moose and more at the exciting Maine Wildlife Park
  • Free admission to the unique culture and grounds of the Sabbathday Lake Shaker Village in New Gloucester
  • And, free admission to the historic buildings and grounds of the Poland Spring Preservation Park and Poland Spring Preservation Society that are adjacent to the Poland Spring Resort


In 2017, we gave 2 to 7 day vacations to 250 adults and children!


More than 2300 Mainer's have deployed to the Middle East since September 11, 2001 and they face financial, familial and emotional burdens that most cannot imagine. The owners and operators of the Gems of 26 care deeply about our men and women in uniform, and want to be able to offer them some high-quality, family downtime amid the beautiful western Maine mountains.


Poland Fire and Rescue









Poland Food Bank









Androscoggin Home Care and Hospice








Poland Spring Preservation Society






We can only afford to offer support to charities within the immediately locality of the resort. We do not give cash donation, only gift certificates for greens fees or resort stays which may be auctioned for the charity.


All local charity requests should be faxed to the Resort at (207) 998-1150. Please include the date of the event, the name of the charity and any information that will be helpful to make a decision. The request will be reviewed by the charity committee as soon as possible and within two (2) weeks you will be notified if only successful.


Due to the volume of request, if you have not heard from us within two (2) weeks, your request has been unsuccessful.

maine resort

”This resort has supported the U.S. Troops by giving some of the deployed Maine troops and immediate family no-strings-attached stays. Not discounts, but mini, free vacations. That tells me a lot about the ownership of this resort.”

“Gems of 26” Offers Maine Military Veterans Fun and Relaxation


The Gems of 26 is a group of eight unique organizations that offer cultural, historic and recreational experiences along Route 26 from Gray to South Paris. Recently, the Gems of 26 offered the Military Family Assistance Center the opportunity for military veterans and their families to stay, eat and enjoy the many fascinating sights and sounds of Western Maine, at no expense.

Maine Military Assistance Center
poland fire rescue

Annual for over 30 years we have provided financial support and the annual Spring Fling Dance as a fund raiser for our local men and women who protect us all.

poland food bank

We have been providing 100 turkeys annually, for over 15 years. Our guests provide the fixings for Thanksgiving. In 2012 we began what we hope is an annual event, "Golf for Food" tournament. The tournament with its sponsors give almost $10,000 to the Poland Food Bank.


home care and hospice

Providing care to our community.

poland spring preservation society

Historic society maintaining the historic Maine State Building and All Souls Chapel.

History of Poland Spring Resort



The very short story is that the story of Poland Spring begins in the late eighteenth century when Jabez Ricker moved his family from Alfred Maine to Bakers town, present day Poland. Jabez had owned land adjacent to the Shaker community in Alfred and when they pressed him to acquire his land, he relented and made the land swap. Shortly after the Ricker’s arrival in Bakers town, some travelers knocked on the door looking for a place to stay. In 1794 the family began operating an inn on the property and by 1797 opened a brand new building - the Wentworth Ricker Inn. Thus the beginning of a tradition of operating an inn on the grounds that continues today.


In 1844, Hiram Ricker, after suffering from dyspepsia for many years, went to the fields to oversee the men on the farm. For several days he drank only water from the spring on the edge of the property and after consuming the water for ten days, he became cured of his illness.


While this is not the first time members of the Ricker family drank from the spring when they were ill, this was the first time that water was perceived as having medicinal properties. In 1845, the Ricker's began sharing water and by 1859 made their first commercial sale of the water. In marketing the resort as a country getaway with recreational activities and having water with health benefits, the Ricker's slowly grew their enterprise.



In 1876, the family opened the Poland Spring House which shortly became a popular attraction for the country’s social and political elite. The hotel, eventually comprised of over 350 guest rooms, a barber shop, dance and photography studios, pool room, music hall, bowling alley, dining facilities, fire sprinkler system and elevators, served as the crown jewel of the resort grounds. Its design and amenities were used to develop several other Hiram Ricker & Sons operated hotels, including the Samoset and the Mt. Kineo House.



The resort also took an unprecedented step in 1894 when it purchased the Maine State Building from the state. The building, constructed of granite, hardwoods, and slate from Maine, was originally constructed as the state entry for the Columbian Exposition or Chicago Worlds Fair of 1893. Designed by Lewiston native Charles Sumner Frost, the building was purchased by the Rickers, disassembled, transported to Poland Spring, reassembled and dedicated for use as a library and art gallery for the resort guests. It remains as one of only a handful of buildings left from the almost 200 that comprised the grand and historic fair.



In 1895, the family opened a nine-hole golf course, one of the first in the state, after commissioning Arthur Fenn as its designer. Fenn, considered by some to be the first American born professional golfer and course designer stayed on for many years as the golf pro at the resort. By the early twentieth century, the resort desired a modernization of the course and contracted with Donald Ross to redesign the course and expand it to eighteen holes. Ross is recognized as one of the most celebrated golf architects of all times and designed, re-designed, or expanded eleven courses in the state, the one at Poland Spring being the oldest.



In 1907, Hiram Ricker and Sons Co. opened a new bottling plant and springhouse on their property.

This was perhaps the most modern bottling facility of its time, installed with glass and silver piping, non-porous Cararra glass for easy cleaning, and even showers for the workers to use prior to beginning their shift. The company was able to churn out over 450 cases of water per shift and continued their dominance in the water business.



The 1930s were not kind years for anyone, including the Ricker family. Eventually losing control over their empire, the resort and water company was owned by several iterations of business consortiums.



In 1962, Saul Feldman purchased the resort and built a new inn on the grounds. He tried to attract a new clientele and offered modern amenities. In order to increase his profits, he leased the Poland Spring House and other buildings on the grounds to the US government for use by the Job Corps program. When the program opened in 1966, Poland Spring was the site of the largest women’s training center in the country. With several thousand individuals coming and going, the wear and tear took its toll and then the Job Corps left the grounds in 1969, the Poland Spring House was closed and not used as a hotel again.



In 1972, Mel Robbins came to Poland Spring to develop condominiums but instead fell in love with the historic character and the potential of the property and began leasing the hotels from Mr. Feldman. In 1975, the Poland Spring House burned to the ground and in 1977 the Maine State Building and All Souls Chapel were donated to the Poland Spring Preservation Society.


What started as a stage coach stop in 1794 when George Washington was president, continues on a resort. Located in the foothills of western Maine, the Poland Spring Resort, with its three inns, three restaurants, ten cottages and a Donald Ross designed 18-hole championship golf course, surely has a lot to offer.


Cyndi began her career at Poland Spring in the dining room when she was just 16 years old. She and her late husband Mel bought the hotel in 1982 after operating the resort for a decade.


By the 1970s the grand lady on the hill known as Poland Spring was in trouble. It needed a new vision to restore it to its former grandeur. Mel Robbins was just the maverick to tackle the project. They made quite a team with Mel's vision and marketing savvy backed by Cyndi's tireless ability to know and do all of the things that make a resort operate efficiently everyday. Mel ran the front of the house in the early days and Cyndi ran the back of the house. Mel passed away in 2007.


Mel was an advocate of change and Cyndi has carried on that tradition. Under Cyndi's leadership Poland Spring has positioned itself to be a destination resort in yet another century, enabling the great Poland Spring brand to continue. Many renovations and changes have been completed while others are planned for the future. A new driving range was built in 2011 to compliment the golf course, which is the oldest resort course in the United States. Also the first nine holes of a disc golf course and also a mini golf course has been added . The Lodge was completely renovated and is the first inn on the property to offer year round service since 1979.

When visiting Poland Spring, one is taken by the beauty of the natural landscape and the interaction the property has with its surroundings. Sitting on the veranda of Maine Inn, one overlooks the greens and fairways of this golf gem with the panoramic views of the Presidential Mountain and Carter-Moriah range as a backdrop.


History is abound; from the historic golf course to the two museums on the property to even offering guests the opportunity to stay in a building listed on the National Register of Historic Places.


Really, though, it is about the people. The smiling and positive attitude of Cyndi's extended family, the Poland Spring employees. Poland Spring has been her life’s work like Mel before her and the Rickers before him. In her words, "If I sold this place what would I do? I love it. It's my family and it's my life."


To celebrate the 40th anniversary of the Robbins management at Poland Spring, Cyndi has re-released her husband’s book, Inside Poland Spring: The Uncensored Story which was published almost 15 years ago. She wrote an update of the past decade and shared her story at Poland Spring. Just one more story that helps to illustrate all that is special about Poland Spring.

For more information about the history of Poland Spring, visit the Poland Historical Society website.


Poland Spring Resort

640 Maine Street

Poland, Maine 04274

(207) 998-4351